Business Continuity Planning (BCP) Community

Official Blog for Dr Goh Moh Heng

Achieving BCMS Certification (Part 1)


Recently, I had many professionals and clients asking about the BCMS certification process, if they want to achieve their BS25999 or SS540, what are the steps to taken? As with most management standards the process will be relatively standardized using the guidelines in ISO 17021. The audit process is broken down into two stages. These are the steps to be taken:

  • Step 1: Application to Certification Body (CB)
  • Step 2: Pre-assessment by CB
  • Step 3; Assessment
    • Stage 1 and 2 Assessment Audit
  • Step 4: Award of Certification
  • Step 5: Continuing Assessment

I will be elaborating the content of each stage (by hyper-inking them) to my future articles.


  1. BCMPedia: Glossary for BCM Auditing
  2. A Manager’s Guide to Auditing and Reviewing your BCM Program
  3. A Manager’s Guide to BS25999 British Standard for BCM
  4. BCM-8590 BS 25999 BCM Lead Auditor Course
  5. BCM-8540 SS540 BCM Lead Auditor Course
  6. BCM-8040 SS540 BCM Internal Auditor Course

Author: moh_heng

Dr Goh Moh Heng is the Managing Director of GMH Continuity Architects and President of Business Continuity Management (BCM) Institute.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.