Business Continuity Planning (BCP) Community

Official Blog for Dr Goh Moh Heng

BCM Planning Methodology and BS25999 Lifecycle


BS 25999 BCM Lifecycle

BS 25999 BCM Lifecycle

Alignment of the BCM Planning Methodology with British Standard BS25999

This is the second part continuation of the previous blog “BCM Concept: BCM Planning Methodology.” The objective is to share how an organization can use a common planning methodology to implement its BC planning project or manage its BCM programme and yet, be able to meet the respective international standards such as the BS25999.

BCM Lifecycle

BS 25999-1 adopts a 6-element BCM Lifecycle approach (illustrated in the diagram above) to BCM. It represents the continuous operations of the BC programme within the organization. The six elements of the BCM Lifecycle are:

  • BCM programme management.
  • Understanding the organization.
  • Determining BCM strategy.
  • Developing and Implementing a BCM response.
  • Exercising, maintaining and reviewing.
  • Embedding BCM in the organization’s culture.

Common Challenges on Meeting Standards

A common dilemma faced by BCM professionals assigned to implement its BCM is having to be well-versed with the many internal organizational guidelines/standards, regulatory requirements and international BCM standards.

Dr Goh Moh Heng BCP Methodology & BS 25999-2006
BCM Planning Methodology & BS 25999-2006 Lifecycle

One key to managing this is to understand that most BCM standards are similar except that they tend to be written to look different from each other. As a BCM implementor, you should adopt a common approach towards BCM implementation. The key is to use the BCM Planning Methodology as a common approach. The second diagram is a simple illustration of the British Standard BS25999 BCM standard being mapped to the phases within the BCM Planning Methodology.  The table below further illustrates the comparison chart between BS 25999’s BCM Lifecycle and BCM Planning Methodology.  With these illustrations, it reinforced that the implementation of any BC project and BCM programme using the BCM planning methodology becomes a straight mapping of the British Standard.


Element Elements of BCM Lifecycle Phase with BCM Planning Methodology Phase
1 BCM Programme Management
  • Programme Management
2 Understanding the organization
  • Project Management
  • Risk Analysis and Review
  • Business Impact Analysis


3 Determining BCM Strategies
  • Recovery Strategy
4 Developing and implementing a BCM response
  • Plan Development
5 Exercising, maintenance, audit and self-assessment of the BCM culture
  • Exercising and Testing
  • Programme Management


6 Embedding BCM into the organization’s culture
  • Programme Management


  1. BCMPedia: Glossary for BCM
  2. British Standard BS25999 Glossary
  3. British Standard BS25999 Framework
  4. A Manager’s Guide to BS25999 British Standard for BCM, ISBN 978-981-05-4300-6 (To be published by 1 Oct 2011)
  5. BCM Institute’s Business Continuity Management Courses

Author: moh_heng

Dr Goh Moh Heng is the Managing Director of GMH Continuity Architects and President of Business Continuity Management (BCM) Institute.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.